Roanoke Reckless Driving Lawyers Working Diligently To Get Clients The Best Possible Outcome For Their Case
The state of Virginia is known for having some of the strictest traffic laws in the nation. This is especially true when it comes to Virginia’s reckless driving laws, which impose serious consequences on offenders.
If you are accused of driving recklessly, speak to experienced criminal defense attorney Seth C. Weston about your legal options. Call (540) 384-4585 or fill out the form on our website to set up a free consultation today.
What is Considered Reckless Driving in Virginia?
The law outlines three specific definitions of reckless driving. The first is operating a vehicle in a manner that puts others in danger, regardless of speed. This means a driver can be charged with reckless driving if they are operating the vehicle dangerously even if they are not speeding.
However, the second definition of reckless driving does involve speed. The law states that a driver can face reckless driving charges for traveling 20 mph or more over the speed limit or more than 80 mph total. This means if you are going 85 mph in a 70 mph zone, you can face reckless driving charges even though you are not traveling more than 20 mph over the speed limit.
The final definition of reckless driving involves the failure to maintain control over the vehicle or the failure to safely maintain certain features on the vehicle, such as the brakes. This is considered reckless since it makes the operation of the vehicle dangerous and puts others in harm’s way.
As you can see, the law broadly defines the act of reckless driving. For this reason, reckless driving is one of the most common traffic-related crimes in Virginia.
Is Reckless Driving A Criminal Offense?
It’s important to understand that reckless driving is not treated the same way as a speeding ticket or other moving violations. In Virginia, reckless driving is treated as a criminal offense as opposed to a traffic infraction.
Is Reckless Driving A Felony or Misdemeanor?
A reckless driving charge is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, which means this criminal offense can lead to much more than just a traffic ticket.
Can You Go to Jail For Reckless Driving?
Being convicted of driving recklessly can lead to a number of legal consequences, including jail time. The maximum penalties include fines of up to $2500 and up to one year in jail.
Offenders may also have to deal with a suspended license for six months as a result of a reckless driving conviction. But, it’s important to note that these are the maximum penalties, so offenders may receive lighter penalties for their first offense.
How Many Points Are Added To Your License For Reckless Driving?
A reckless driving conviction will affect your driving record, too. After a conviction, six points are added to your driving record, where they will remain for two years.
The increase in points on your record will serve as a red flag to insurance companies, who may charge higher rates now that you are a riskier driver. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can also suspend or revoke your license once you have accumulated a specific number of points on your record within a certain timeframe.
What Is The Best Way To Beat A Reckless Driving Ticket?
The best way to beat a reckless driving ticket and minimize the legal consequences you face is by hiring an experienced reckless driving lawyer. An attorney may be able to prove that the state does not have enough evidence to convict you of this crime.
If this is true, the prosecution may decide to dismiss the charges. In some cases, an attorney may be able to convince the prosecution to reduce the charges filed against you. This would allow you to avoid the most serious penalties associated with reckless driving.
Each criminal case is unique, but Seth C. Weston will carefully examine the facts of your case to determine the best way to beat your criminal charges and secure your freedom.
How Much Does A Roanoke Reckless Driving Attorney Cost?
The cost of legal representation can vary depending on the complexity of the case and level of the attorney’s experience. It’s recommended that you talk to your attorney about his or her legal fees during the initial consultation so you know what you should expect to pay throughout the duration of your case.
Schedule A Free Consultation With Our Roanoke Reckless Driving Law Firm Today!
Have you been charged with reckless driving? If so, there’s no time to waste. Take the first step towards protecting your freedom by contacting the Law Office of Seth C. Weston, PLC as soon as possible.
Seth Weston is a skilled criminal defense attorney who will work tirelessly to reach the best possible outcome in your case. To schedule a free consultation, call (540) 384-4585 or fill out the brief form on our website.